A Prayer by Samuel Johnson

Almighty God, our heavenly Father, without whose help labour is useless, without whose light search is vain, invigorate my studies and direct my enquiries, that I may by due diligence and right discernment establish myself…in thy holy Faith…. Let me not linger in ignorance and doubt, but enlighten and support me for the sake of Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

Samuel Johnson quoted in Hearing with the Heart: A Gentle Guide to Discerning God’s Will for Your Life (Farrington, 2003), p. 107.

This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

